Nominations for the 2019 VFEE Inspiring Excellence Award are now open!


The purpose of the Verona Foundation for Educational Excellence Inspiring Excellence Award is to recognize and celebrate teaching excellence and innovation. Each school in the district has many dedicated educators who make outstanding contributions to their school community on a daily basis.   The VFEE Award is an opportunity for building supervisors and educators at each of the six schools to nominate their fellow educators who inspire their students and advance the teaching profession.  A finalist from each of the schools -- Brookdale Avenue School, F.N. Brown School, Forest Avenue School, Laning Avenue School, H.B. Whitehorne Middle School, and Verona High School – will be selected to receive the award. 


Nominees must be employees of the school district and have daily face-to-face contact with students; including educators in special services such as special education teachers, gifted and talented teachers (or other exceptional needs), reading resource teachers, speech therapists, guidance counselors, and instructional media specialists. 

Completed applications must be submitted no later than March 1, 2019. Based on the nominees submitted, a committee comprised of VFEE Board members will select the six recipients of the Inspiring Excellence Award. The Superintendent or his representative will be notified about committee activity and selection.

In an effort to streamline the nomination process and to reduce paper use, VFEE requests that all nominees use the electronic application which can be completed and submitted online at under the “Educator” tab.


VFEE will host its annual soiree on April 5, 2019 and will honor the Inspiring Excellence Award recipients at this event.


If you have any questions regarding the nomination process, please contact VFEE Board member Lisa Remler at (917) 628-8205.


Past Awards Honorees...


  • Melissa Symczak, Brookdale

  • Louis Waibel, FN Brown

  • Joan Weiss, Forest

  • Joan Petronico, Laning

  • Julia Harth, HBW

  • Thomas White, VHS


  • Rob Hill, Brookdale

  • Megan Pellegrino, FN Brown

  • Elizabeth Buzaid, Forest

  • Debbie Marsano, HBW

  • Marie Meyer, VHS


  • Claire Duffy, Brookdale Avenue School

  • Corisa Walker, F.N. Brown School

  • Lisa Varuolo, Forest Avenue School

  • Grace Minervo-Buneo, Laning Avenue School

  • Jennifer Kleinknecht, H.B. Whitehorne Middle School

  • Richard Wertz, Verona High School

We also recognized the achievements of Barbara Kistner with the creation of a special grant.

Congratulations to all!